London Southbank


I love obvious titles, and London Southbank satisfies.  In London, and on the south bank of the Thames.  So clever.  With smart remarks to the side, the Southbank is a classic and must-see, or should I say ‘must-do’.  It has a path that winds along the river, through markets, past culturally-iconic buildings, displaying postcard views, and delivering food and streetside entertainment throughout any season.  Do my photos capture that?  Not even close.

I’ve watched street dancers flip and spin, I’ve bought books that are over 100 years old, I’ve watched the sun set through the buildings of London, I’ve experienced street hustlers trying to scam tourists in games of shells or cards, I’ve been there in the rain, the cold, the summer, in a rush, at a stroll, by myself, with friends, late for an appointment, as a tourist, as a local, before dawn, after dusk, to see photos, to take photos, to hear and see Shakespeare, to experience the London Symphony Orchestra, but … but …

Do my photos show the Southbank? Not properly, not even close.  However, a small taste until next post.

The Eye at Night

The Lights light the way

Pow - graffiti at the skate park

Blurry vision of the Eye

Leave a Reply

